Yesterday I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond to look at blenders, armed with the mailbox regular $5 off $15 purchase coupon.  I wasn’t excited by any of the options, but then I remembered I needed – wanted – a cheese grater.  The option from my go-to brand was under $15.  Crap, crap, crap.  I didn’t want to spend much more than $15.  I stared at the wall of  kitchen accessories until I saw an apple corer.  Perfect for those granny smiths I had just bought.  Besides, who really uses a melon baller?  I walked out with two kitchen items for under $20.

Today I opened a rarely used drawer in my kitchen and found an apple corer.  Not just any apple corer, but the exact same one I bought yesterday.   I don’t know what is more revealing: that I couldn’t remember I had an apple corer already or that I couldn’t conceive of not using the coupon even though it meant spending more than necessary.

Someone’s getting a lovely apple corer in their Christmas stocking.

First World Pearl: 

Know thy kitchen, know thyself

Aside | This entry was posted in First World Problems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

